Aimee’s GD Blog

A place to share my work and thoughts

LEGO Term Long update May 6, 2009

Filed under: 470 Projects — Aimee @ 10:22 pm

Hello all,

Here’s a little update of what I have been up to on my lovely LEGO project. I have been in email correspondence with the manager of the local LEGO store. He is hooking me up with the local AFOL community here in Portland. Once I get this contact info, I’m going to arrange time to meet them and collect as much inf from them as possible regarding their obsession with LEGO. Hopefully I will be able to photograph some of their builds to add into my booklet of LEGO artists.

The manger is going to get approval from the head office to make sure I can hang out in the store and gather info from the employees and customers with photos. He sent me a link to AM NW website. A local builder was just featured on the show yesterday morning (I’ll post the link on the bottom of this post for all who would be interested).

sw_combo
Here’s what’s new: a new addition to the physical time line. It’s a representation of the quintessential opening scene from the original Star Wars. It’s to commemorate¬† 1999 when LEGO released it’s first of many Star Wars model sets
(this is also posted on flickr).

time-line-1

In case I didn’t show it before, here’s the first set to the physical time line. These separate little scenes represent the release of the first LEGO brick (1953), the release of doors and windows (1954), the first LEGO town system and trees (1955). There are going to be many more that will span time up to 2009. They are still in the planning and building phase. These will all eventually be photographed and turned into an interactive web time line that will have special effects like rollovers and scrolling thru the site to navigate to the part of the time line you want to see.

My plan for deliverables is a booklet that features LEGO international artists and their work, local AFOL builders, samples of other sculptures and art pieces from all over the world. A series of “activist” posters. These are going to be a fun play on Greenpiece (Greenpeace) and PeTLA (PeTA). The physical and web interactive timeline. A logo for the AFOL community. A bunch of LEGO slogan inspired T-shirts, buttons, and bumper stickers. I think this could be a fun kit to give to people who are beginner AFOLs, something to entice them into the community.

The audience interaction part is also still in the planning stage. I need to advertise and schedule out a time and possibly a classroom to set-up my custom build program. I plan to bring in a wild assortment of bricks and other fun pieces for people to come in and create either one giant themed building or individual builds without instructions. There will also be LEGO cookies and hopefully some of the fun buttons & swag as give-aways.

board-combos

I hope that after this is all done, I will have opened people’s eyes and minds to LEGO as a creative tool for adults and not just toys for kids. I’d love for participants to get inspired to start “playing” with LEGOs on their own. It’s a great creative tool that also helps in the areas of geometry, math and even architecture.

http://www.katu.com/amnw

 

Leave a Reply

