Aimee’s GD Blog

A place to share my work and thoughts

A Fun Time in LEGO Land! June 10, 2009

Filed under: 470 Projects — Aimee @ 11:44 pm

AFOL Logo_1.2 Well, it’s that time, the end of the term. All the final prjects are turned in and the waiting begins for the final assessment. It was great fun working on this project. I would actually like to expand it more to the AFOLs and figure out a way to produce some of these items for them. What I liked most about this job was the interaction with the AFOLs and the Non-AFOLs. I only got to interact with the community via emails and the websites they directed me to for additional information. Some of them were really great for information and just fun to communicate with. I also have to give a shout out to the great employees at the LEGO Store at Washington Square, especially Tom the manager. I couldn’t have done it without them. (I’m planning a special little package to send them as a thank you, that’s the reciprocity part right?) He gave me so much additional information I couldn’t get it all into this project. I plan to expand it further with more information graphics and “educational” materials.

After all the communication with the community and the LEGO Store, I found out that the AFOL community actually influences the LEGO corporation more than they are influenced by it. They have been involved in many of the corporate design plans for new sets and many of them have had their sets produced by the company for sale all over the world. The licensed Master LEGO builders get spots in the Nieman Marcus holiday catalog. You can actually order one of the Master Builders to make a life sized replica of you. It’s not cheap, but very cool! The AFOL community has also been heavily involved in the educational side of LEGO. A Few years back LEGO contacted some of the AFOLs from around the country (Portland included) to be a part of the Mindstorms project which are educational building sets for children.

On the other side of the LEGO community are the other people who are adults that don’t regularly play with LEGO. From what I found out from my LEGO free build a couple of weekends ago, most everybody loved their LEGO bricks as a child, most of them hadn’t really played with them since. They still had a great time and came up with some pretty fun original creations. If I remember correctly from the surveys, some of them even said they would contemplate playing with them again. Awesome! another AFOL convert!

As a fun note, one of my dear friends from 7th grade who also works at Pixar, was just featured in the latest Brick Journal Magazine, one of the official magazines for the LEGO community. Great Job Angus!

In closing, this again was a great project that I really enjoyed working on. I had so many more ideas that I just couldn’t add into the final project due to time constraints. But they are not forgotten. I still have plans for them.

Have a great summer! And remember Play Well!

Aimee

Mini Me

 

Leave a Reply

